5 Comments

  1. May 21, 2010 at 3:25 am

    I often find myself struggling with memories of some of those moments I am ashamed of in the past, but it is wonderful to think that, as you said, “they are no longer part of His memory”. It IS wonderful to be defined by the moment we went to the cross! Thank you so much for this reminder and the encouragement that came with it.
    In Christ,
    Ben

  2. May 21, 2010 at 4:18 am

    It hurts so deeply when those memories come up. I feel such awful regret, that I find myself telling Him I am sorry every time I remember them. The ones that seem to hurt the most are the memories connected to family and loved ones. Even thoughts I might have had that they don’t even know about. It’s as automatic as covering my mouth when I sneeze. But scripture says that He doesn’t remember. It helps somehow when I remember that all creation groans; especially when I think about the fact that we are new creatures.

    Romans 8:16-39 has come to have special meaning for me. There are so many precious truths in that passage. I also love Psalm 51, because I know all about the kinds of sin that David sinned. He felt such sorrow for his sin, but he was confident that not only would the Lord cleanse him from his sins, but also that the Lord would restore the “joy” of his salvation. The Lord loves us so much. He understands perfectly and still loves us and longs for His joy to remain in us, and that our joy may be full.

    Paul and David knew all about it. I am so thankful for the promises we find in the Bible.

  3. May 21, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Psalm 51 is also one of my favorites. There have been many times that I have used all of it or part of it as my own prayer. I do think that remembering our past sins does help keep us humble and it helps us to be more forgiving of others. When I think about all that the Lord has forgiven me, I can’t help but want to be quick to forgive others for whatever they may have done to me. Yesterday, I was particularly struggling with something in my past when I read this entry, and I believe the Lord used it comfort me and help me and I just wanted to thank you again for posting it.

    Psalm 103:3 is also one of my favorites “who forgiveth all thine iniquities…” God is good.

  4. May 21, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Thank you, Ben. I did write an entry awhile back on this very subject. I think you might like it. Here is the link:

    https://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/?s=sins+and+their+effect+on+people

  5. January 25, 2014 at 2:51 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder.


Leave a Reply

