11 Comments

  1. Heather said,

    April 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Satan is indeed a master deceiver and con artist. He knows how to push all the right “guilt” buttons in order to distract believers from serving and loving Jesus to the best of our ability.

    It is encouraging to see how Jesus triumphed over temptation in the wilderness by countering Satan’s twisted version of the Truth with rightly applied scripture. Being well versed in and having a well grounded understanding of God’s Word is a must!

  2. April 23, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    Heather,

    That was a very good example. That is why it is so important to seek the Lord daily in both prayer and in the word. Romans 12:2 encourages us to do this: “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” I am so thankful that as the word is hidden in our heart the Holy Spirit helps us by bringing it to our memories when we are under attack.

  3. April 25, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I struggled mightily with this not too very long ago. I definitely had not been the Christian that I should have been and I began to despair as I started feeling that I was beyond forgiveness. But that is a lie. I just kept coming back to the Psalm “There is forgiveness with thee”. What a precious truth! Thank you for the encouragement.

  4. April 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I cannot tell you how I identify with your words. These truths have become precious to us because we are precious in his sight! When I was in my teens I was taught a doctrine that was not a doctrine of grace. For many years I was terrified that I might lose my salvation. Fear truly can have torment. I am so thankful that He is delivering me. I still have my weak moments, but the Lord is bringing me along. Thank you so much for sharing.

  5. May 5, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I love how you describe the way the Holy Spirit speaks to us and convicts us of sin that we might come to Christ and repent versus the way Satan accuses us and seeks to destroy our faith by saying we are beyond forgiveness. The Bible tells us to to test the spirits to make sure what they are saying conforms to the Truth of His Word. Thank you for this wonderful and comforting devotion. And I love the hymn you included. I have a Johnny Cash CD with that song on it, and I could hear it in my head as I read the lyrics. Peace, Linda

    • May 6, 2010 at 1:29 am

      Linda,

      I am glad you found this devotion comforting. I still struggle with bouts of fear, especially before I fall asleep at night. It helps me to respond with “But what does the Bible say?” A lot of times I just tell the Lord and say “Lord, I’m scared. Please help me.” Then I fall asleep. When I wake up the fear is usually gone.

      I like Johnny Cash, too. His songs have a way of touching people. I need to get a CD with Him singing Hymns. I also like Alison Krauss. 🙂

  6. June 8, 2015 at 12:22 am

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “…The fact that you are still breathing and have concern in your heart shows that the Lord is calling to you. Call on Jesus. He is listening. He cares. ..”

  7. June 8, 2015 at 12:55 am

    This made me think of 2nd Corinthians 13, the love chapter. One of the verses days “love keeps no record of wrongs.” But Satan, who hates us, does keep a record. Peace, Linda

  8. Debbie said,

    June 8, 2015 at 3:27 am

    I love how you stop and consider, “what does the bible say?” :). Yes , I deed! And when we do that He is faithful to bring His word and promises to us. Thank you, thank you!
    Love, deb


Leave a Reply

