Transitions (Part 9…While the Dew is Still on the Roses)

Scripture References;


O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways.  Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.  You hem me in—behind and before;  you have laid your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.  Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?  If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths,  you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast. If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be. How precious to  me are your thoughts, O God!  How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you. Psalm 139:1-18 NIV


I wrote this yesterday:
“Don’t you just love those mornings when the house is quiet and the coffee turns out just right, and you cuddle up and visit? And then I took a walk around the yard. I love this time of year. The mock orange shrubs are blooming, the hostas are already getting big and had little water droplets from the rain on them, and the rose buds are showing color and will be opening in a day or two…
…The tiger lilies are already 3 feet tall, the honeysuckle has been trimmed so it looks like a a beautiful green cloud at the base of my sweet gum tree. The thing that I am most excited about is the hydrangea shrubs. The  blue ones are already making flower heads. They are about the size of quarters: last week they were dime sized.  My hubby just poured me a refill of coffee, and the kitchen smells like sausage. Don’t you wish you were here?!    :-)”
Then I wrote this a few hours later:
“I took two PC tests today, got a 90% and a 95%; That finished up my computer literacy (It didn’t include WORD and EXCEL; that comes later)!  Now I am on a Job Readiness Skills part of the program that takes 10-15 hours to complete. So far it’s been all about…Resume Writing! Isn’t that funny?   ( I wrote an entry earlier where I had mentioned that I was working on a resume. It was in a series titled “Transitions”) I still have a way to go. Each time you do a set of skills you get a certificate. I am working toward an Employability Certificate. Then I will work on my Clerical Certificate, and the possibly a Banking Certificate after that.
We have had some new things that have come up that might affect my plans some, though.  My husband is planning on going back to college this fall!”
I will have to write more about that later.   We really don’t know what the future holds; neither the near or distant future, but the Lord has consistently cared for us so far, and the Bible teaches us that He will continue, that He is faithful. This makes me glad!  🙂
Below is a hymn that is on my mind.

I Know Who Holds Tomorrow


          • Refrain
            Many things about tomorrow,
            I don’t seem to understand;
            But I know Who holds tomorrow,
            And I know Who holds my hand.
      • I don’t know about tomorrow,
        I just live from day to day.
        I don’t borrow from it’s sunshine,
        For it’s skies may turn to gray.
        I don’t worry o’er the future,
        For I know what Jesus said,
        And today I’ll walk beside Him,
        For He knows what is ahead

      • . Ev’ry step is getting brighter,
        As the golden stairs I climb;
        Ev’ry burden’s getting lighter;
        Ev’ry cloud is silver lined.
        There the sun is always shining,
        There no tear will dim the eyes,
        At the ending of the rainbow,
        Where the mountains touch the sky.

        I don’t know about tomorrow,
        It may bring me poverty;
        But the One Who feeds the sparrow,
        Is the One Who stands by me.
        And the path that be my portion,
        May be through the flame or flood,
        But His presence goes before me,
        And I’m covered with His blood.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

3 Comments

  1. July 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Well, I guess now is a good time to update my readers. I ended up going to a place in my town called “The Wage Center” and earned an employability certificate. Then I began taking a clerical course, but three things happened that made me stop going. 1) My husband decided to go back to college this fall and I will need to get him to and from classes and two and from work. Plus I will be his “reader”. 2)We got new information that said those cuts in our income are being postponed; so we have more time. 3) I became ill on the 23rd of May and ended up being sick for the rest of May and about all of June. I am a good deal better now, but not entirely. I had lab work done and it all came back pretty normal, except my cholesterol was a little high; not real high…my LDL was 109, and I believe I can bring it down to a better number if I make a few dietary adjustments and exercise. Blood sugar, blood pressure, thyroid, and hormones were all okay. The Doctor wanted me to go on Prozac, and I might some day, but I have decided to hold off on that for awhile, and try relaxation techniques, and a few other things instead.

    I am a very thankful that my husband and kids are supportive and okay with me just remaining a wife and mom for as long as I like…or at least until our financial situation changes and “demands” me to make a change. Society puts so much pressure on women these days that they easily confuse “genuine need” with “genuine something else”. One thing I do know is that at the present time “I” genuinely need to be home with my family and have lots of quiet time alone with my Lord, and the world and all of the “activities” it has to offer will just have to get along without me.

    • Linda said,

      November 17, 2010 at 4:01 am

      Hostas in April? Hmmm…

      At that time, mine are just little purple helmets trying to push through the snow. I live in Ohio on Lake Erie. It stays cold here longer than most places because of the lake. 🙂

  2. November 17, 2010 at 5:18 am

    Well, my town is also on a lake, but it is much smaller. There is only one state separating ours from the Gulf of Mexico so we are in planting zone 7, and I have a couple micro-climate situations in my yard that allow me to have a huge and beautiful Gardenia (About 7 feet tall). 🙂


Leave a Reply

