The Breath of Life (Part 1…Born of the Spirit)

Scripture references;


The Empty Tomb

1 On  the first day of the week  Mary Magdalene  came to the tomb  early, while it was still dark. She saw that the stone  had been removed  from the tomb. 2 So she ran to Simon Peter  and to the other disciple, the one Jesus loved, and said to them, “They have taken the Lord out of the tomb, and we don’t know where they have put Him!”

3 At that, Peter and the other disciple went out, heading for the tomb. 4 The two were running together, but the other disciple outran Peter and got to the tomb first. 5 Stooping down, he saw the linen cloths  lying there, yet he did not go in. 6 Then, following him, Simon Peter came also. He entered the tomb and saw the linen cloths lying there. 7 The wrapping  that had been on His head was not lying with the linen cloths  but was folded up in a separate place by itself. 8 The other disciple, who had reached the tomb first, then entered the tomb, saw, and believed. 9 For they still did not understand the Scripture  that He must rise  from the dead.  10 Then the disciples went home again.

Mary Magdalene Sees the Risen Lord

11 But  Mary stood outside facing the tomb,  crying. As she was crying, she stooped to look into the tomb. 12 She saw two angels  in white sitting there, one at the head and one at the feet, where Jesus’ body  had been lying. 13 They said to her, ” Woman, why are you crying?”

“Because they’ve taken away my Lord,”  she told them, “and I don’t know where they’ve put Him.” 14 Having said this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, though she did not know it was Jesus.

15 “Woman,” Jesus said to her, “why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for?”

Supposing He was the gardener, she replied, “Sir, if you’ve removed Him, tell me where you’ve put Him, and I will take Him away.”

16 Jesus said, “Mary.”

Turning around, she said to Him in Hebrew, “Rabbouni!” —which means “Teacher.”

17 “Don’t cling to Me,” Jesus told her, “for I have not yet ascended  to the Father.  But go to My brothers  and tell them that I am ascending to My Father  and your Father—to My God  and your God.”

18 Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord!”  And she told them what He had said to her.

The Disciples Commissioned

19 In the evening of that first day of the week,  the disciples were [gathered together] with the doors locked because of their fear of the Jews. Then Jesus came, stood among them, and said to them, “Peace to you!”

20 Having said this, He showed them His hands and His side.  So the disciples rejoiced when they saw the Lord.

21 Jesus said to them again, “Peace to you! As the Father has sent Me,  I also send you.” 22 After saying this, He breathed on them  and said,  “Receive the Holy Spirit. 23 If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain [the sins of] any, they are retained.”

Thomas Sees and Believes

24 But one of the Twelve, Thomas  (called “Twin”), was not with them when Jesus came. 25 So the other disciples kept telling him, “We have seen the Lord!”

But he said to them, “If I don’t see the mark of the nails in His hands, put my finger into the mark of the nails,  and put my hand into His side,  I will never believe!”

26 After eight days His disciples were indoors again, and Thomas was with them. Even though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them. He said, “Peace to you!”

27 Then He said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and observe My hands. Reach out your hand and put it into My side. Don’t be an unbeliever, but a believer.”

28 Thomas responded to Him, “My Lord and my God!”

29 Jesus said, “Because you have seen Me, you have believed. Those who believe without seeing  are blessed.”

The Purpose of This Gospel

30 Jesus performed many other signs  in the presence of His disciples that are not written  in this book.  31 But these are written so that you may believe Jesus is the Messiah,  the Son  of God,  and by believing you may have life in His name.   John 20 HCSB 

Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.  That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.  Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again.  The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.  John 3:5-8 KJV

And the LORD God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul.  Genesis 2:7  KJV

And when he had said this, he breathed on them, and saith unto them, Receive ye the Holy Ghost:  John 20:22  KJV

And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place. And suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting.  And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them.  And they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance. Acts 2:1-4 KJV

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.  2 Timothy3:16-17 NIV

And don’t get drunk  with wine,  which [leads to] reckless actions, but be filled with the Spirit:  Ephesians 5:18 HCSB



There is so much to be gleaned from the above passages of scripture.  I might write about some thoughts I have on that subject sometime in the near future.  I wrote a song many years ago.  Below are both the words and a link, so you can hear it if you like.

Breathe Your Breath Upon Me

http://www.tinypic.com/player.php?v=30tqng2&s=5


Song #5  Breathe your Breath Upon Me (Genesis 2:7, John 20:22, Ephesians 5:18)


Breathe your breath upon me Lord.
Fill me with the Holy Ghost.*
Write your words upon my heart.
Write them so they will stay.
Breathe your breath upon me Lord.

I stand before your presence Lord,
An empty vessel waiting on you.
Fill me with your goodness.
Lord, teach me your ways.
Breathe your breath upon me Lord.

(Bridge or chorus)

Sometimes I have to think of how God sent you into the world.
Although You took on human form, You were in deed our God.
Our sins were laid upon You, and You carried them away,
And when You rose the victory was won!

So Breathe your breath upon me Lord.
Fill me with the Holy Ghost.*
Write your words upon my heart.
Write them so they will stay.
Breathe your breath upon me Lord…
Breathe your breath upon me Lord…
Jesus, breathe your breath upon me Lord!

*This phrase is not only  about the filling of the Holy Spirit that occurs at the time of regeneration. It is also about the control of the Holy Spirit exerted over the believer as he yields. This song is my attempt to convey the beautiful  and empowering experience of the Spirit filled life.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!


Leave a Reply

