Psalm 139 (Part Two: To be Searched, Known, and Loved)

Scripture References;

Psalm 139

The All-Knowing, Ever-Present God
For the choir director. A Davidic psalm.

1 LORD, You have searched me and known me.

2 You know when I sit down and when I stand up;
You understand my thoughts from far away.

3 You observe my travels and my rest;
You are aware of all my ways.

4 Before a word is on my tongue,
You know all about it, LORD.

5 You have encircled me;
You have placed Your hand on me.

6 [This] extraordinary knowledge is beyond me.
It is lofty; I am unable to [reach] it.

7 Where can I go to escape Your Spirit?
Where can I flee from Your presence?

8 If I go up to heaven, You are there;
if I make my bed in Sheol, You are there.

9 If I live at the eastern horizon
[or] settle at the western limits,

10 even there Your hand will lead me;
Your right hand will hold on to me.

11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me,
and the light around me will become night”

12 even the darkness is not dark to You.
The night shines like the day;
darkness and light are alike to You.

13 For it was You who created my inward parts;
You knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I will praise You,
because I have been remarkably and wonderfully made.
Your works are wonderful,
and I know [this] very well.

15 My bones were not hidden from You
when I was made in secret,
when I was formed in the depths of the earth.

16 Your eyes saw me when I was formless;
all [my] days were written in Your book and planned
before a single one of them began.

17 God, how difficult  Your thoughts are
for me [to comprehend];
how vast their sum is!

18 If I counted them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand;
when I wake up,  I am still with You.

19 God, if only You would kill the wicked&md;
you bloodthirsty men, stay away from me  &md;

20 who invoke You deceitfully.
Your enemies swear [by You] falsely.

21 LORD, don’t I hate those who hate You,
and detest those who rebel against You?

22 I hate them with extreme hatred;
I consider them my enemies.

23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
test me and know my concerns.

24 See if there is any offensive  way in me;
lead me in the everlasting way.   Psalm 139 HCSB

Standing up, Paul motioned with his hand and said: “Men of Israel and you Gentiles who worship God, listen to me!  The God of the people of Israel chose our fathers; he made the people prosper during their stay in Egypt, with mighty power he led them out of that country,   he endured their conduct for about forty years in the desert,   he overthrew seven nations in Canaan and gave their land to his people as their inheritance.   All this took about 450 years.

“After this, God gave them judges until the time of Samuel the prophet.  Then the people asked for a king, and he gave them Saul son of Kish, of the tribe of Benjamin, who ruled forty years.  After removing Saul, he made David their king. He testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.’  Acts 13:16-22 NIV

“After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.Give us this day our daily bread.And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil:  For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.”  Matthew 6:9-13 KJV

For when we were yet without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.  For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die.  But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:6-8 KJV


You know, “Part One” of this message was incomplete.  We need a hymn. Here is one of my favorite hymns below.


The Love of God

  1. The love of God is greater far
    Than tongue or pen can ever tell;
    It goes beyond the highest star,
    And reaches to the lowest hell;
    The guilty pair, bowed down with care,
    God gave His Son to win;
    His erring child He reconciled,
    And pardoned from his sin.

    • Refrain:
      Oh, love of God, how rich and pure!
      How measureless and strong!
      It shall forevermore endure—
      The saints’ and angels’ song.
  2. When hoary time shall pass away,
    And earthly thrones and kingdoms fall,
    When men who here refuse to pray,
    On rocks and hills and mountains call,
    God’s love so sure, shall still endure,
    All measureless and strong;
    Redeeming grace to Adam’s race—
    The saints’ and angels’ song.
  3. Could we with ink the ocean fill,
    And were the skies of parchment made,
    Were every stalk on earth a quill,
    And every man a scribe by trade;
    To write the love of God above
    Would drain the ocean dry;
    Nor could the scroll contain the whole,
    Though stretched from sky to sky

Would you like to hear it?  Here is a link.   What a beautiful song!


1 Comment


Leave a Reply

