Transitions (Part One)

Well, since I first started blogging here at WordPress just a few weeks ago, all of my blogs have been devotional ones.  Today’s entry is just a little more information about where I am on my journey. You might say it is a brief look back, around, and  ahead.

I have been married now for over 22 years. My husband is a wonderful man.  He has his strengths, weaknesses, and talents just like everybody else, but he has one more thing that no other man has. That would be my heart. He is legally blind, but that in no way defines him as a person. Although he cannot drive, he has been able to work for all of his adult life. In fact, he has even been able to provide for his family well enough that with just a few very brief exceptions,  I have been able to be a stay at home housewife and  homeschooling mother to both of our children. We are so thankful that the Lord has provided us with each other and with the strength and with “the open doors” that were needed for the wonderful life that we have had together as a family all these years.

I have been a mom for over 21 years now. Our son finally left “the nest” last year just days after he graduated from college. He now lives out of state where he has a teaching assistantship as he pursues his MBA. He should be graduating in December, and is hoping to get in on a PhD program, so he might someday be a business professor at a college or university not too far from his family. We are very proud of all he has accomplished and all he is working so very hard to achieve. Our daughter is 15 and has been homeschooled from the very beginning. We are so proud of her. She has so many talents.  She is hoping to go to college to become a dental hygienist. We are so glad we still have her with us. There will be some sadness when that day comes, and our nest is completely empty.

Well, I don’t know what to say about me. I am anticipating many changes in both the near and distant future; what things might be like, what I might be doing. I am limited in some ways. I do not have a college degree or anything of that nature. But I do have lots of experience and also embrace learning, and discovery. I might try my hat at college or some career. Then again, I might hone my crafts and return to what I know best…”children” and “teaching”. I owned and operated a small  in-home daycare for a number of years, and I have recently been thinking about opening another one….I’m not quite sure yet…just considering the possibility. I also have been a volunteer home schooling consultant and mentor, something that I am very passionate about, and would love to turn that into a business of some kind. But the thing that I am the most passionate about is sharing Christ with others. This is something that I am looking forward to doing  no matter what the future holds. He is such a wonderful Savior; I never get tired of learning about Him through the personal relationship I have with Him.

This month has held some sad things for our family. My father-in-law is in the last stages of his battle with prostate cancer. We are planning on leaving tomorrow to go see him and my mother-in-law for a couple days. This has been a painful time for the whole family, because he is loved by so many. My husband is struggling. He loves his dad so much. But I know the Lord is faithful and will help us.

Well, I think that is all that I have to say today. Keep us in your prayers.

Looking unto Jesus,

Theresa

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

8 Comments

  1. Laura said,

    February 7, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Theresa,

    I enjoyed reading this entry. It is the only one that I’ve read so far, but I will try to remember to read some more when I have some time. You are very brave to share yourself so openly, and I know that God is going to use that to glorify Himself!

    Laura

  2. November 16, 2010 at 5:23 am

    I never said thank you here. Well, better late than never. 🙂 Thank you Laura. I take that as a very big complement, because you are someone that I admire. 🙂

  3. March 23, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    All of my posts with “Transitions” in the title share a little about me and my family. I thought I would re-blog them, so my readers would have the opportunity to get to know me a little better and follow along on the journey I have been on since February of 2010.

  4. Debbie said,

    March 24, 2014 at 3:19 am

    I never read this before and just loved learning more about you and your family, your story for His glory. :). Thank you so much for reporting! Love and prayers for all that lies ahead!
    Zdeb

  5. March 24, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Thank you, Deb. You have such a huge encouraging heart!

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. theywhoseek said,

    March 25, 2014 at 3:54 am

    Can’t wait to walk through this journey and see all that God has done. I love reading how God is working or has worked in the lives of others. It brings such assurance that He is with us throughout our walk with Him. ~ Blessings ~

    • March 25, 2014 at 3:58 am

      Thank you so much for reading here and commenting. Your words encourage me.

      Blessings,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

