Is it Joy, Fun, or Both?

Scripture References;

Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice.  Psalm 51:8

Then he said unto them, Go your way, eat the fat, and drink the sweet, and send portions unto them for whom nothing is prepared: for this day is holy unto our LORD: neither be ye sorry; for the joy of the LORD is your strength.  Nehemiah 8:10 KJV

Restore the joy of Your salvation to me, and give me a willing spirit.  Psalm 51:12 HCSB

Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing,  so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.  Romans 15:13 HCSB


I think we have to be careful about comparing ourselves to others, especially authors. We only know what they say about themselves. For all we know they might seem a lot different if we were a fly on the wall in their homes.  Another thought is that joy can look different in different people. Some people might have high energy, and their joy might look different than one who has a quiet joy.

You know, I think joy and fun are two different things. I think fun can be planned, but not joy. I think joy is a gift, and it can be lost, but it also can be restored, if we ask the Lord to do so. I don’t think we can give joy to our families, but we can point them to the One who can give it to them.

Below is one of my favorite hymns that I sing at the kitchen sink a lot. It is called “Come, Thou Fount”. It addresses this whole issue. In fact, I can be quite down, but not long after I start singing hymns my whole mood is often completely changed.

“Come, Thou Fount of every blessing, Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing, Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet, sung by flaming tongues above;
Praise the mount I’m fixed upon it! Mount of thy redeeming love.

Here I’ll raise my Ebenezer, Hither by thy help I’ll come;
And I hope, by thy good pleasure Safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger, wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger, Interposed His precious blood.

O to grace how great a debtor Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let thy goodness, like a fetter, Bind my wand’ring heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, Seal it for Thy courts above.”

That is one song I can sing without ever doubting my sincerity. So much is about prayer and what I call reckoning. We just have to claim his promise that we can do all things in Christ who strengthens us. We will still fall, but not be utterly cast down; for the Lord upholdeth us with his hand (Psalm 37: 23-24).

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click on “Very Important Words” on the left margin of this page and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just go to http://www.biblegateway.com. They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

8 Comments

  1. Robert Bline said,

    January 27, 2010 at 4:31 am

    I have fun being joyful.

  2. aboldjoy said,

    February 13, 2010 at 4:53 am

    Thank you for your comment. God bless you and your family. In Him, Kimberly

  3. February 13, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Thank you, and God bless you and your family, too.
    Theresa

  4. bendedspoon said,

    August 31, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    thank you. it’s a joy reading this.
    ‘I don’t think we can give joy to our families’
    this is something else. i am enlightened.
    i miss you. hope everything is okay.
    i just had fun thinking of you
    singing at the kitchen sink.
    🙂

  5. August 31, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    bendedspoon, it is so nice to hear from you today. I have had a lot going on lately, but I am hoping that I will both get a chance to write today, and that the Lord will be the supplier of whatever comes to my mind to share.

    Theresa

  6. coastalmom said,

    March 28, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    Theresa
    You my friend are the true definition of JOY♡

    • March 28, 2014 at 7:39 pm

      Diane,

      I am so touched that you feel that way. You are wonderful lady.

      Blessings,
      Theresa


Leave a Reply

